quote HEE facebook linkedin twitter bracketDetail search file-download keyboard-arrow-down keyboard-arrow-right close event-note

Community Education Provider Networks (CEPNs)

Community Education Provider Networks (CEPNs or Training Hubs) are a new way of developing the primary care workforce in response to today’s health agenda.  It works to improve recruitment and retention of GPs and the wider general practice team, and develop innovative solutions to the challenges faced by primary care.


These are intended to give greater control over commissioning, distribution and funding of education and training placements in primary care and the community.   Health Education England has a role in planning the future workforce and translating this into commissioning undergraduate and postgraduate training working with Higher Education Institutes (universities and colleges or HEIs) and employers.   Health Education England will increasingly work with CEPNs to finance placements in primary and community care and provide advanced training opportunities for existing staff.

Community Education Provider Network is an organisation within an organisation (the host body) typically a Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG), GP Federation or Out Of Hours Provider (OOP). They connect employers across a locality with HEE and HEIs providing a network with four main responsibilities:

  • Workforce Planning
  • Training and Education
  • Growing your own staff
  • Future sustainability
  • Collaboration

Eleven CEPNs were commissioned in the West Midlands in November 2015 covering a large proportion of the West Midlands with potential to expand all West Midlands CCG areas. Funding will be provided for 3 years with a view to be self-sustainable in year 4.

CEPNs are tasked with encouraging opportunities for employers and health professionals to learn and train together. This is in all areas including clinical, managerial and leadership but also new system transformation across the primary, community and secondary divide to make care seamless and where appropriate, closer to home.

 

CEPNs across the West Midlands

The following sites have been successful in their bid to establish the CEPN (Training Hubs) these are listed below:

Taurus Healthcare

Main Contact: Nikki Marriott

nikki.marriott@taurushealthcare.co.uk

Project Manager: Danny Morris

Danny.Morris@taurushealthcare.co.uk

 

South Warwickshire GP Ltd

Main Contact:Jon Moll

Jon.Moll@southwarwickshiregps.nhs.uk

 

Coventry and Rugby GP Alliance

Main Contact: Michelle Horn

michelle.horn@nhs.net

 

Worcestershire CEPN

Main Contact:Simon Rumley

simon.rumley@nhs.net

Project Manager: Louise Folkes

louise.folkes@mail.com

 

Sandwell and West Birmingham CCG

Main Contact:Lisa Maxfield

lisa.maxfield@nhs.net

Project Manager: Leon Mallett

leonmallett@nhs.net

 

Badger Medical Ltd

pato@badger.nhs.uk

Project Manager: Suzanne Owen

Suzanne.Owen@badger.nhs.uk

 

 

 

South Doc Services Ltd

Main Contact: Dr Jayne Tullett

j.tullett@nhs.net

 

Future Proof Health

Main Contact:Kevin Dawes

kevin.dawes@futureproofhealth.co.uk

Project Manager: Anthony Skilbeck

anthony.skilbeck@futureproofhealth.co.uk

 

Walsall Alliance

Main Contact: Dr Anu Muniyappa

Anuradha.Muniyappa@walsall.nhs.uk

Project Manager: Waheed Saleem

wsaleem@nhs.net

 

GP First

Main Contact:Dr Ian Greaves

Ian.greaves@nhs.net

Project Manager: Angela Lindsay

angela.lindsay3@nhs.net

 

Shropdoc

Main Contact: Dr Russell Muirehead

Russell.muirhead@shropdoc.nhs.uk

Project Manager: Sara Edwards

sara.edwards@shropdoc.nhs.uk

 

 

 

 

 

Next Steps

Of crucial importance is the value of the wider primary care distributed networks supported by CEPNs which can deliver solutions to population and patient needs.

HEE intends to support each locality to optimise local educational possibilities through a locally controlled CEPN.

For further information on: Funding for CEPNs, Governance and Central KPIs please view the CEPN Guidance document.

Find out more about the national training hubs programme and other training hubs’ work through the national page.

Six Thinking Hats for Transformation

The CEPNs met in November to reflect on their first 18 months and begin to agree on next year priorities. Using Six Thinking Hats methodology (E.Bono Penguin Books 2000) the team reflected on the successes to date, the GP Forward View and transformation agenda.  The most popular areas for working into projects were: practice management leadership and development, ambassadors for primary care, upskilling health care assistants, telehealth and apprenticeship promotion in schools and primary care careers.  Further work will take place to revise these ideas.

 

 

If you found this content useful you can share it on your favourite social network:

Or just grab the url to share wherever you like:

Related Documents

Expand Collapse

Related Content

Urgent Care Practitioner role developed in Shropshire

The Urgent Care Practitioner (UCP) role has been developed by Shropshire Community Educator Provider Network (CEPN) as an initiative to support unscheduled care and home visits in primary care.   Piloted and developed by Shropdoc as the training hub with deployment to other training spokes includ

Read more